THE CLARENCE DAY DEAN'S AWARD FOR RESEARCH AND CREATIVE ACTIVITY

<u>Eligibility</u> – Full-time members of the Rhodes Faculty who have taught at least three years at Rhodes and who have not previously been awarded this prize.

<u>Criteria for Selection</u> – The award recipient has accomplished unusually significant professional work in the past three years.

This work consists of scholarly or research publication, or is exhibited in artistic productions or performances.

This work is judged to be an important contribution to the award recipient's discipline or related disciplines.

This work must be demonstrated to have had an important effect on the award recipient's teaching, directly benefiting Rhodes students by its influence on course content or pedagogy.

Nominations – should be forwarded to the Office of the Dean of the Faculty and must be received by 5:00 p.m. Wednesday, March 30, 2016. Department chairs should assume a special responsibility for nominating department members who are likely to be strong candidates. The nomination should clearly identify the work that provides the basis for the nomination. If possible, the nominator should provide evidence that the work is of unusual significance and that it has influenced the nominee's teaching. Nominations can be submitted electronically to DOC@rhodes.edu.

Past awardees are:

1981	John Copper	1993	Robert Strandburg	2005	Daniel Arce
1982	Not awarded	1994	Andrew Michta	2006	Ming Dong Gu
1983	Jack Farris	1995	Brian Shaffer	2007	Marshall Boswell
1984	Richard Gilliom	1996	Cynthia Marshall	2008	Mary Miller
1985	David Kesler	1997	Steve Haynes	2009	Chris Mouron
1986	Tony Garner	1998	Robert MacQueen	2010	Terry Hill/Darlene Loprete
1987	James Olcese	1999	Gail Streete	2011	Jeff Jackson
1988	John Copper	2000	Susan Kus	2012	Shadrack Nasong'o
1989	Alan Jaslow	2001	Mike Nelson	2013	Patrick Gray
1990	Jack Taylor	2002	Lynn Zastoupil	2014	Katherine White
1991	Marcus Pohlmann	2003	Natalie Person	2015	Christopher Seaton
1992	Steve McKenzie	2004	David McCarthy		

Faculty eligible for the Clarence Day Award for Research and Creative Activity for 2016.

(Full-time faculty who have completed three full years of teaching at Rhodes. Those who have previously received the award are ineligible. Faculty are listed alphabetically by department.)

Anthro/Sociology

Kimberly Kasper Jeanne Lopiparo Tom McGowan Evie Perry

Art & Art History

Victor Coonin Erin Harmon

Biology

Sarah Boyle Michael Collins Jonathan Fitz Gerald Rachel Jabaily Carolyn Jaslow David Kabelik Gary Lindquester Oliver Sturm

Chemistry

Kimberly Brien Mauricio Cafiero Roberto de la Salud Bea Loretta Jackson-Hayes Dhammie Muesse Larryn Peterson Jon Russ

Commerce and Business

Pam Church Dee Birnbaum Jade Planchon Ferron Thompson

Economics

Marshall Gramm Nick McKinney John Murray

English

Gordon Bigelow Jennifer Brady Rebecca Finlayson Lori Garner Ernest Gibson Judith Haas Scott Newstok Leslie Petty Jason Richards Rashna Richards Seth Rudy Caki Wilkinson

Greek & Roman Studies

Geoff Bakewell Joe Jansen Ariel Lopez Kenny Morrell Susan Satterfield David Sick

History

Michael Drompp Dee Garceau Tim Huebner Jonathan Judaken Tait Keller Mike LaRosa Seok-Won Lee Charles McKinney

Robert Saxe Etty Terem

Int. Studies

Steve Ceccoli Esen Kirdis Amy Risley Jennifer Sciubba

Math/CompSci

Erin Bodine Rachel Dunwell Eric Gottlieb Phillip Kirlin **Betsy Sanders** Chris Seaton Mike Sheard

Modern Languages

Rachel Bauer Elizabeth Bridges Kathleen Doyle Li Han Eric Henager Nora Jabbour Felix Kronenberg Alexandra Kostina Laura Loth Shira Malkin Alberto del Pozo Martinez Michelle Mattson Valeria Nollan Clara Pascual-Argente Elizabeth Pettinaroli Catherine Sundt Kathryn Wright Chia-rong Wu

Music

Carole Blankenship Tom Bryant Courtenay Harter Vanessa Rogers Bill Skoog

Philosophy

Mark Newman Pat Shade

Physics

Shubho Baneriee **Brent Hoffmeister** David Rupke Ann Viano

Political Science

Dan Cullen Amy Jasperson Steve Wirls

Psychology

Anita Davis Kim Gerecke Rebecca Klatzkin Elizabeth Thomas Marsha Walton Chris Wetzel

Religious Studies

Tom Bremer Rhiannon Graybill Kendra Hotz Luther Ivory John Kaltner Bernadette McNary-Zak Milton Moreland Mark Muesse Leigh Pittenger Daniel Ullucci

Theatre

Laura Canon Julia Ewing David Jilg David Mason